Hedwig Owl Cake

In light of recent events, I would like to share with you my Snow Owl Cake. This past week the film industry lost a wonderful member. Alan Rickman graced the big screen with his talents throughout the years. One of his biggest roles being professor Severus Snape in the Harry Potter series. Some may know that Harry Potter is very near to my heart, and of course I was sad to see Rickman go.

For my birthday every year my mother makes a from scratch snowman confetti cake . This year however I made a Snow Owl to look like Hedwig, Harrys Pet throughout the books. I started with a basic yellow cake recipe, but instead of butter I used equal parts butter and cream cheese (1/2 c and 1/2 c). For the confetti I carefully folded in 2/3 cup sprinkles. To make it look like an owl I used two different baking dishes. One was an oblong stone, the other a small soufflé cup. The batter was enough to fill two of each, so when the cakes were done I stacked them, making a kind of layer. For the decoration, I first iced a base (or crumb) coat to make sure the cake was sealed all around. Switching to a leaf tip on my decorator I made featherlike patterns al around the torso and the head. The eyes consisted of Cookie Crisp Cereal piece with a single chocolate chip. A triangle fudge made the beak, and mini pretzel sticks doubled as talons and eyebrows. Upon completion I was very pleased with my Hedwig Owl Cake. It wasn’t the traditional snowman, but it was just as delicious. Please message me for a full recipe.

20160107_13551320160107_145305-120160107_151829-120160107_205132-1

2 thoughts on “Hedwig Owl Cake

Leave a comment